Seven Seattle Seahawks named to the 2016 Pro Bowl Roster


The 2016 Pro Bowl takes place on Sunday, Jan. 31 in Honolulu, one week before Super Bowl 50. Seven Seattle Seahawks were named to the 2016 Pro Bowl roster. Among them are quarterback Russell Wilson and rookie Tyler Lockett who made the team as a return specialist. There are five members of the defense including safeties Earl Thomas and Kam Chancellor, cornerback Richard Sherman, linebacker Bobby Wagner and defensive end Michael Bennett. This is the third time in franchise history that seven Seahawks are voted to the Pro Bowl and the other years were 1984 and 2005.

 This is the fifth time that Thomas is selected in six seasons, the fourth for Wilson and Chancellor, the third for Sherman, the second for Wagner and the first for Bennett and Lockett.


The 2016 Pro Bowl takes place on Jan. 31 at the Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, one week before the Super Bowl 50 at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara. With the Seahawks still in the running for Super Bowl 50, the players earn this honor but will not likely play in the game. As in the last two years, the Pro Bowl will again be an “unconferenced” format.

Two Pro Football Hall of Fame wide receivers – Michael Irvin and Jerry Rice will serve as NFL Legends captains and drafting their teams on Wednesday, Jan. 27. Both Irvin and Rice are returning for the second time after being the winning captains during the previous two Pro Bowls.


Since 1979, all but two Pro Bowls have taken place in Hawaii. The 2010 Pro Bowl game was at Sun Life Stadium in Miami, Florida and in 2015 at University of Phoenix Stadium, in Glendale, Arizona. The Pro Bowl features the best athletes of the NFL voted by fans, players and coaches. Each group’s vote counts one-third towards determining the 88 players in the Pro Bowl.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *